Best Cosmetology Colleges in the US

Rachel Goldstein·14 min read
11 Best Cosmetology Colleges in the US 2025

Federal data covers 1,555 cosmetology certificate programs in the United States. At the median for-profit beauty school, tuition for the whole program runs $16,412. At the median public college, the same program costs $5,081.

Four years after finishing, graduates of the two groups earn almost exactly the same: a median of $26,753 out of the for-profit schools and $25,111 out of the public ones.

So the school you pick barely moves your paycheck. It moves your debt, and it moves it by a lot. That's the single most useful thing to know before you sign anything.

This page covers what the license really takes, what the big chains charge, what their graduates earn, and where the same license costs a third as much.

Cosmetology School Is a License, Not a Degree

You're not earning a bachelor's here. You're earning a state license to work on other people, and the rules come from your state board, not from the school.

Three things stand between you and that license. A minimum number of training hours. A program your state board has approved. And an exam, usually a written test plus a hands-on practical.

Board approval is the part people miss. Hours from a program your board hasn't approved don't count toward your license, however good the teaching was. That makes "approved where I want to work" a more useful filter than "best in the country." Cosmetology sits in the same family as the other licensed trades, so if you're still weighing the route itself, start with what a trade school is and how it works.

Your State Decides How Long You Sit in Class

The hour requirement is set state by state, and the spread is bigger than most people expect. Iowa asks for more than twice what California, New York and Texas ask for. Same job, same license, double the classroom time.

State

Hours for a cosmetology license

Set by

California

1,000

Board of Barbering and Cosmetology

New York

1,000

Department of State, 19 NYCRR 162.4

Texas

1,000

Department of Licensing and Regulation

Oregon

1,110 for hair design

Health Licensing Office

Florida

1,200

Board of Cosmetology, DBPR

Illinois

1,500

IDFPR

Ohio

1,500

Ohio Revised Code 4713.28

Washington

1,600

Department of Licensing

Iowa

2,100

Iowa Administrative Code 645-60

Oregon splits the license instead of bundling it. Hair design, esthetics, nail technology and barbering are separate certificates there, so the 1,110 figure buys you one of them rather than the full package. A few states work this way, which is why a national "average hours" number is close to meaningless.

Hours don't always travel. If you train in a 1,000 hour state and then move to a 1,600 hour state, the new board decides how much of your training it accepts. Planning a move? Read the destination board first, not after.

You Can Pay Three Times More for the Same Paycheck

This is the comparison the glossy school tours skip. Both columns come from the same federal file, covering the same credential in the same field.

Public colleges

For-profit beauty schools

Programs in the data

450

1,078

Median program tuition

$5,081

$16,412

Median earnings, four years out

$25,111

$26,753

Median federal loan debt

$7,274

$8,619

Across every cosmetology program in the country, the median graduate earns $26,307 four years out. A quarter earn under $13,783 and a quarter clear $41,270, so where you end up depends far more on where you work and how you build a client book than on whose name is over the door.

One honest caveat about these numbers. Scorecard earnings and debt cover students who took federal grants or loans, not everybody who graduated. They are the best public numbers available on this question, and they're not a full census. You can look up any school yourself on the College Scorecard field of study search.

So if two schools near you are both approved by your board, the cheaper one is very likely the better deal. That isn't a rule of thumb. It's what the earnings columns say.

How to Check Any Beauty School in Ten Minutes

Four questions separate a school worth your money from one that's selling you a brochure.

  • Look the program up on Scorecard first. Search the school, open the cosmetology entry, and read the median earnings and median debt for that campus. It takes about a minute and it beats any ranking list, including this one.

  • Check the accreditation. Most beauty schools are accredited by NACCAS. Accreditation is what makes federal aid possible, so no accreditation means no grants and no federal loans.

  • Get the total cost in writing, kit included. Tuition is rarely the whole bill. Kits, books, uniforms and exam fees are often thousands more, and they belong in the number you compare.

  • Ask what happens to your hours if you leave. Ask it before you enroll and ask for the answer on paper. Schools close, and students at closed campuses have found out the hard way that hours can be hard to move.

The Big Chains, and What the Federal Data Says About Them

These are the names that come up most often. The table counts only campuses with a federal aid cosmetology program, so a chain may have more locations than the number shown. Every figure is a median across those campuses.

School

Campuses in the data

Median tuition

Median earnings, 4 yrs

Median federal debt

Paul Mitchell Schools

87 in 34 states

$18,452

$29,442

$9,833

Aveda Institutes

37 in 25 states

$19,650

$30,711

$7,917

Pivot Point Academy

1 in Illinois

$21,100

$32,317

$9,833

Empire Beauty Schools

74 in 23 states

$17,500

$26,761

$12,090

Sassoon Academy

none

not reported

not reported

not reported

Tricoci University

15 in 3 states

$13,184

$28,087

$7,307

The Ogle School

9 in Texas

$15,700

$28,629

$7,917

Evergreen Beauty College

1 in Washington

$12,965

$33,219

$7,904

Cameo College

1 in Utah

$4,100

$27,247

$5,500

Toni & Guy Academy

1 in Washington

$12,965

$38,683

$12,344

Xenon Academy

1 in Nebraska

$18,750

$31,642

$9,500

1. Paul Mitchell Schools

Paul Mitchell Schools

Paul Mitchell runs the largest network in the federal data: 87 campuses across 34 states offer a cosmetology program that qualifies for federal aid. Programs cover cosmetology, barbering, esthetics and nail care.

Median tuition across those campuses is $18,452 and median earnings four years out are $29,442, which is above the national median for the field.

The brand name won't tell you the price. Tuition runs from $8,250 to $24,075 depending on the campus, a spread of nearly three to one. Ask the specific school you would attend, not the chain.

2. Aveda Institutes

Aveda Institutes

Aveda has 37 campuses in 25 states in the data, built around plant-based products and a curriculum that adds business training to the technical work.

It's the most expensive of the big three at a median $19,650, and it also posts the highest median earnings of the three at $30,711. Median federal debt is $7,917.

The institutes are franchised. Different owners run different campuses under a shared curriculum, so price and outcomes vary from one to the next even though the sign is the same.

3. Pivot Point Academy

Pivot Point Academy

Worth knowing before you go looking: Pivot Point is mostly a curriculum company. It licenses its program, its teaching tools and its online platform to other beauty schools rather than enrolling most students itself.

One academy in Bloomingdale, Illinois carries a federal aid cosmetology program. Tuition there is $21,100, the highest single figure in this list, and median earnings four years out are $32,317.

So if a school tells you it teaches the Pivot Point curriculum, that's a statement about the coursework, not about who you're enrolling with.

4. Empire Beauty Schools

Empire Beauty Schools

Empire has 74 campuses across 23 states in the data, offering cosmetology, esthetics and makeup artistry.

Median tuition is $17,500, below Paul Mitchell and Aveda. Median earnings four years out are $26,761, right at the national median for the field.

The debt figure is the one to ask about. Median federal loan debt at Empire campuses is $12,090, the highest of any chain here and about a quarter more than at Paul Mitchell. Lower tuition with higher borrowing is a combination worth understanding before you enroll.

5. Sassoon Academy

Sassoon built its reputation on precision cutting, and the name still carries real weight among working stylists. Six US locations plus online courses.

It's not a standard licensing route, though. No Sassoon location appears in the federal cosmetology data at all, which means no federal grants or loans for its courses, and much of what it teaches is advanced work aimed at people who already hold a license.

If you want Sassoon training, the usual path is to get licensed somewhere else first and go there afterwards. Confirm with the academy before you plan a year around it.

6. Tricoci University of Beauty Culture

Tricoci University Of Beauty Culture

Tricoci runs 15 campuses across Illinois, Indiana and Wisconsin, with programs in cosmetology, esthetics, barbering and nail technology.

At a median $13,184 it's the cheapest of the multi-state chains, and its graduates report median earnings of $28,087 four years out, above the national median. Median federal debt is $7,307, the second lowest here.

For a student already living in one of those three states, that combination is hard to beat outside the public system.

7. The Ogle School

The Ogle School

Nine campuses, all in Texas, covering cosmetology, esthetics and barbering.

Ogle is the most consistent chain in the data. Tuition sits between $15,700 and $16,500 across all nine campuses, and median federal debt is identical at every one of them at $7,917. Median earnings four years out are $28,629.

Texas asks for 1,000 hours, one of the shortest requirements in the country, so a Texas student reaches the exam faster than most.

8. Evergreen Beauty College

Evergreen Beauty College

Evergreen lists seven campuses across Washington State on its own site, running cosmetology, esthetics, barbering and nail technology.

One campus carries reported cosmetology figures, and they are strong: $12,965 tuition, median earnings of $33,219 four years out, and $7,904 in median federal debt. That's the second highest earnings figure on this page against one of the lower prices.

Washington requires 1,600 hours, so budget more time there than a Texas or California student would need.

9. Cameo College of Essential Beauty

Cameo College Of Essential Beauty

Cameo sits in Murray, Utah and offers cosmetology, esthetics, nail technology and medical aesthetics.

The price is the story here. At $4,100 the program costs about a quarter of what the big chains charge and lands in community college territory, which is rare for a private beauty school. Median federal debt is $5,500, the lowest on this page.

Median earnings four years out are $27,247, right in line with schools charging four times as much. It's the clearest example on this page of price and outcome moving independently.

10. Toni & Guy Hairdressing Academy

Toni Guy Hairdressing Academy

Check this one is open before you plan around it. The US academy network has shrunk sharply. Campuses in Manteca and Modesto, California, in Marietta, Georgia, in Plano, Texas and in Erie, Pennsylvania have all closed, and the academy's own .edu domain no longer resolves.

One campus appears in the federal cosmetology data, in Shoreline, Washington, and it's now listed as closed too. Its reported numbers were good while it ran, with median earnings of $38,683 four years out, the highest on this page.

The brand still lists US academies on its global site. Call the specific location and confirm it's enrolling before you count on it.

11. Xenon Academy

Xenon International Academy

Now trading as Xenon, a Stephanie Moss Academy, with two campuses in Nebraska, in Omaha and Grand Island.

The old listings are out of date. Older articles put Xenon in Nebraska, Colorado and Missouri. Only the Nebraska campuses remain, which is a good reminder to check any beauty school list against the school's own site.

Tuition at the campus with reported data is $18,750, with median earnings of $31,642 four years out and $9,500 in median federal debt.

The Community College Route Nobody Mentions

Nearly a third of the cosmetology programs in the country, 450 of the 1,555, sit inside public colleges. They lead to the same state license and the same exam, and they cost a fraction of the private route.

The colleges below are the public programs whose graduates report the strongest median earnings in the federal data. Treat it as a shortlist of what the public route can look like, not a ranking: the typical public program pays close to the national median, same as the private ones.

Read that tuition column carefully. It's the published in-state rate for one year at the whole college, not the price of the cosmetology program, which depends on how many hours your state requires. It's the right number for comparing colleges and the wrong number for budgeting, so ask each school what its cosmetology program costs start to finish.

The catch is availability. Not every public college runs cosmetology, waitlists can be long, and the schedule is usually built around a normal academic calendar rather than the rolling starts a private school offers. That trade is worth understanding before you rule it out, and the wider case for the route is in our guide to the reasons to attend a community college and the honest pros and cons of community college.

So Which School Should You Pick?

Start with your state board, because it sets the hours and it decides which programs count. Then shortlist the approved schools within reach of where you live.

Look up each one on Scorecard and write down two numbers: median earnings and median debt. Get the full price in writing, kit included. If a public college near you runs the program, put it on the list, because it's usually the cheapest route to the identical license.

The license is the same whoever hands it to you. What changes is how much you owe on the day you start working, and that part is yours to control. If you're still weighing this against other routes, our roundup of careers you can start without college puts cosmetology next to the alternatives.

Frequently Asked Questions

How long does cosmetology school take?

Between 1,000 and 2,100 hours of training depending on your state, which is roughly nine months to two years full time. California, New York and Texas sit at the low end and Iowa at the high end.

Is a community college cosmetology program as good as a beauty school?

It leads to the same license and the same exam, and federal data shows public and private graduates earning about the same. Public tuition is roughly a third of the private figure. The trade is fewer start dates and less flexible scheduling.

Do I need federal financial aid to go?

No, but you need an accredited school to qualify for it. Schools accredited by NACCAS can offer federal grants and loans. Places without accreditation, including some well-known advanced academies, can't.

How much do cosmetologists earn?

The median graduate of a US cosmetology program earns $26,307 four years out. A quarter earn below $13,783 and a quarter above $41,270, and where you work matters more than where you studied.

Can I use my hours in another state?

Sometimes, and it's the destination board that decides. Moving from a 1,000 hour state to a 1,600 hour state can mean extra training, so check the board where you plan to work before you enroll.

What should I ask a school before enrolling?

Ask for the total cost with kit and fees in writing, whether the program is approved by your state board, what its Scorecard earnings and debt look like, and what happens to your hours if you have to leave.

Related Articles

  1. Columbia vs nyu College Guide

    Columbia vs NYU: The Numbers That Separate Them

    NYU's tuition is lower and Columbia costs less to attend. The sticker price points one way, aid points the other, and both schools just rewrote their terms. Plus the school-not-university trap at NYU, what the Core really takes, and how Columbia's ranking got where it is.

    David Kim14 min
  2. Best Colleges For Nature LoversCollege Guide

    30 Best Colleges for Nature Lovers Where the Wild Is Part of Campus

    Are you passionate about nature? Do you dream of studying in a place where the great outdoors becomes your classroom? If so, let’s take a look at some of the best colleges for nature lovers. From breathtaking campuses in the mountains to those bordered by serene lakes, these schools offer more than

    Michael Osei22 min
SponsoredAmazon Prime for Young Adults: 5% cash back on Off to College purchases, and $0 for the first six months